FED

EMPLOYEE RIGHTS UNDER THE FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT

FEDERAL MINIMUM WAGE **\$7.25 PER HOUR BEGINNING JULY 24, 2009**

The law requires employers to display this poster where employees can readily see it.

At least 1½ times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek.

CHILD LABOR An employee must be at least 16 years old to work in most non-farm jobs and at least 18 to work in non-farm iobs declared hazardous by the Secretary of Labor. Youths 14 and 15 years old may work outside school hours in various non-manufacturing, non-mining, non-hazardous jobs with certain work hours restrictions. Different rules apply in agricultural employment.

Employers of "tipped employees" who meet certain conditions may claim a partial wage credit based on tips received by their employees. Employers must pay tipped employees a cash wage of at least \$2.13 per hour if they claim a tip credit against their minimum wage obligation. If an employee's tips combined with the employer's cash wage of at least \$2.13 per hour do not equal the

minimum hourly wage, the employer must make up the **PUMP AT WORK** The FLSA requires employers to provide reasonable break time for a nursing employee to express breast milk for their nursing child for one year after the child's birth each time the employee needs to express breast milk. Employers must provide a place, other than a bathroom,

that is shielded from view and free from intrusion from coworkers and the public, which may be used by the employee to express breast milk.

OF LABOR UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

TX

Overview



WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT

ENFORCEMENT The Department has authority to recover back wages

money penalties may be assessed for each child labor violation that results in the death or serious injury of any minor employee, and such assessments may be doubled when the violations are determined to be willful or repeated. The law also prohibits retaliating against or discharging workers who file a complaint or participate in any proceeding under the FLSA. **ADDITIONAL INFORMATION**

exempt from the minimum wage, and/or overtime pay provisions. Certain narrow exemptions also apply to the pump at work requirements. Special provisions apply to workers in American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern

protections; employers must comply with both. Some employers incorrectly classify workers as employees under the FLSA. It is important to know the difference between the two because employees (unless exempt) are entitled to the FLSA's minimum wage and overtime pay protections and correctly classified independent contractors are not.

apprentices, and workers with disabilities may be paid less than the minimum wage under special certificates issued by the Department of Labor.

1-866-487-9243 www.dol.gov/agencies/whd



Minimum Wage Law

TWC provides information to employers and employees about their respective rights, duties and remedies under the Texas Minimum Wage Act. The Texas Minimum Wage Act:

Establishes a minimum wage for non-exempt employees Requires covered employers to provide each employee with a written earnings statement containing certain information about the employee's pay

Designates TWC as the agency responsible for disseminating information about state minimum wage Contains provisions concerning agricultural piece rate workers

Exempts a variety of employers from its coverage Provides civil remedies for its violation **Current Minimum Wage**

Texas adopts the federal minimum wage rate. Effective July 24, 2009, the federal minimum wage is \$7.25 per hour. The Texas Minimum Wage Act does not prohibit employees from bargaining collectively with their employers for a higher wage. With specified restrictions, employers may count tips and the value of meals and lodging toward minimum wage.

An employer does not need to pay an employee who lives on the business premises for on-call time in addition to assigned working hours. Under certain conditions, an employer may pay a sub-minimum wage to an employee who is a patient or client of the Texas

Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation, or to other individuals due to age (see the law for details), or to productivity impairments Wage Rate Complaints & Deadline

Individuals who believe they have been paid at a rate lower than the law requires may choose to take legal action.

An individual has two years from the date wages were due to file a lawsuit to recover the unpaid wages plus an additional equal amount as liquidated damages. The employer can be assessed reasonable attorney's fees and court costs. **Earnings Statement**

Employers must provide employees a written earnings statement with information on that enables employees to determine from a single document whether they have been paid correctly for a given pay period.

Exemptions The primary exemption from the Texas Minimum Wage Act is for any person covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act

Other specific exemptions include

Employment in, of or by religious, educational, charitable or nonprofit organizations Professionals, salespersons or public officials

Certain youths and students

Family members Amusement and recreational establishments Non-agricultural employers not liable for state unemployment contributions Dairying and production of livestock

Sheltered workshops **Agricultural Piece Rates**

The Commissioner of Agriculture establishes piece rates for agricultural commodities commercially produced in substantial quantities in Texas, if sufficient productivity information is available. The piece rates are intended to guarantee at least minimum wage for harvesters of average ability and diligence while allowing harvesters to earn more by producing more. Last Verified: July 14, 2022

(5) occupations involved in transporting

pipeline, or other means,

amusement park),

(9) public messenger jobs,

machines, or equipment,

from the hot grease or oil,

bakery-type mixers,

meat is processed,

48 hours in one week,

summer school.

children may not work:

(1) during school hours,

June 1 and Labor Day.

Child Actors- state law

Workforce Commission.

instruction.

other performer

child is enrolled in school, or

substitutes,

(7) poultry catching or cooping,

persons or property by rail, highway, air, water,

(6) youth peddling, sign waving, or door-to-

(8) lifeguarding at a natural environment

such as a lake, river, ocean beach, quarry,

pond (youth must be at least 15 years of

at a traditional swimming pool or water

age and properly certified to be a lifeguard

(10) communications and public utilities jobs,

(11) construction including demolition and

repair, work performed in or about boiler

or engine rooms or in connection with the

maintenance or repair of the establishment,

(12) outside window washing that involves

requiring the use of ladders, scaffolds or their

(13) cooking, except with gas or electric grills

and with deep fat fryers that utilize devices

(15) occupations which involve operating,

setting up, adjusting, cleaning, oiling, or repairing power-driven food slicers and

grinders, food choppers and cutters, and

(16) freezers or meat coolers work, except

short period of time to retrieve items,

trucks, railroad cars or conveyors, and

except office and clerical work.

minors may occasionally enter a freezer for a

(17) meat processing and work in areas where

(18) loading and unloading goods to and from

(19) all occupations in warehouses and storage

Work times for 14- and 15-year-old children:

State Law — A person commits an offense if

that person permits a child 14 or 15 years of

age who is employed by that person to work:

(1) more than 8 hours in one day or more than

(2) between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m.

on a day that is followed by a school day or

between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m. on

(3) between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m.

on any day during the time school is recessed

for the summer if the child is not enrolled in

Federal Law — The FLSA further regulates

(2) more than eight hours on a non-school day

(3) more than three hours on a school day or 18

school year, or between 9 p.m. and 7 a.m. from

<u>Child actor definition</u> — a child under the age

Child actor extra definition — a child under the

age of 14 who is employed as an extra without

any speaking, singing, or dancing roles, usually

authorization must submit an application for

Special authorization for child actors to be

employed as extras is granted without the

meets the Texas Workforce Commission's requirements. Contact 1-800-832-9243 for

need for filing an application if the employer

PENALTIES:

State of Texas — An offense under Chapter 51,

Texas Labor Code, is a Class B misdemeanor,

except for the offense of employing a child

under 14 to sell or solicit, which is a Class A

misdemeanor. If the Commission determines that a person who employs a child has violated

this Act, or a rule adopted under this Act, the

penalty against that person in an amount not to

exceed \$10,000 for each violation. The attorney

violates the requirements established by this Act

administrative penalty of \$11,000 per violation

101 E. 15th Street • Austin, Texas 78778-0001

REV. 09/2022

Commission may assess an administrative

general may seek injunctive relief in district

court against an employer who repeatedly

Federal — The FLSA prescribes a maximum

relating to the employment of children.

and/or criminal prosecution and fines.

RELAY TEXAS: 800-735-2989 (TDD)

(512) 463-2222

800-735-2988 (Voice)

www.texasworkforce.org

authorization on a form provided by the Texas

of 14 who is to be employed as an actor or

in the background of the performance

Every person applying for child actor

hours of employment. 14 and 15 year old

or 40 hours during a non-school week,

(4) between 7 p.m. and 7 a.m. during the

hours during a school week, and

a day that is not followed by a school day if the

that automatically lower and raise the baskets

(14) baking and all activities involved in baking,

that do not involve cooking over an open flame

working from window sills, and all work

NOTICE: This state has its own minimum wage law. Employers are also required to display the federal Employee Rights Under the Fair Labor ndards Act posting, which indicates the federal minimum wage. Where federal and state rates both apply to an employee, the U.S. Department of abor dictates that the employee is entitled to the higher minimum wage rate. THIS NOTICE IS FOR INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY.

TX

Child Labor Laws

Texas Workforce Commission Wage and Hour Department, Child Labor Enforcement **U.S. Department of Labor** Wage and Hour Division

For further information about Texas' child labor laws, call:

800-832-9243 (TDD 800-735-2989) This poster provides some guidelines to the Texas child labor laws, but it is not complete. Chapter 51, Texas Labor Code, governs the employment of children under Texas state law. MINIMUM AGE FOR EMPLOYMENT IS 14; however, state and federal laws provide for certain exceptions. Please call TWC's Wage and Hour Department concerning questions about labor law. The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) governs federal laws and guidelines pertaining to child labor. For information concerning federal child labor laws, consult your local office of the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division or call 866-487-9243

The following are prohibited occupations for 14- through 17-year-old children: Prohibited occupations are the same for both federal and state law. The hazardous occupations designated by an asterisk (*) have provisions for employment of persons below the age of eighteen (18), provided applicable apprentice or student-learner certification has been obtained. Persons desiring specific information about these exceptions should contact the nearest office of the United States

Department of Labor. Occupations declared particularly hazardous or detrimental to the health or well-being of all children 14 through 17 years of age include

(1) in or about plants or establishments other than retail establishments which manufacture or store explosives or articles containing explosive components other than retail

(2) involving the driving of motor vehicles and outside helpers

A. on any public road or highway, B. in or about any place where logging or sawmill operations are in progress, or (Under certain conditions, driving a motor

vehicle for a commercial purpose is NOT considered a hazardous occupation under state or federal law, (3) connected with coal mining,

(4) in logging and sawmill occupations and occupations involving firefighting and timber (5) *in operating or assisting to operate power

driven woodworking machines, (6) involving exposure to radioactive substances and to ionizing radiations, (7) in operating or assist to operate powerdriven hoisting apparatus such as elevators, cranes, derricks, hoists, high-lift trucks,

(8) * in operating or assisting to operate power driven metal forming, punching, and shearing (9) in connection with mining, other than coal (10) * in operating or assisting to operate power-driven meat processing machines, and occupations including slaughtering, meat

packing, processing, or rendering, (11) in operating or assisting to operate powerdriven bakery machines, (12) * involved in the operation of power-

driven paper-products machines, balers and (13) in manufacturing brick, tile, and kindred

(14) * in operating or assisting to operate power-driven circular saws, bandsaws and guillotine shears, abrasive cutting discs,

reciprocating saws, chain saws and wood-

(15) in wrecking, demolition, and ship-breaking (16) * in roofing operations and on or about a

(17) * in connection with excavation

Additional prohibited occupations that apply under state law:

(1) Occupations involved in sales and solicitation by a child under 18 years of age. Consult 51.0145 Texas Labor Code for exceptions and requirements. (2) Occupations in sexually oriented businesses by a child under 21 years of age.

Additional prohibited occupations that apply only to 14- and 15-year-old children: Occupations declared particularly hazardous or detrimental to the health or well-being of 14-

and 15-year-old children include: (1) mining, manufacturing, or processing occupations, including duties in workrooms or places where goods are manufactured, mined, or otherwise processed, (2) operating or assisting in operating power-

driven machinery or hoisting apparatus other than typical office machines, (3) work as a ride attendant or ride operator at Equal Opportunity Employer/Services an amusement park or a "dispatcher" at the top WHCL - 70 of elevated water slides,

(4) driving a motor vehicle or helping a driver,

and an equal amount in liquidated damages in instances of minimum wage, overtime, and other violations. The Department may litigate and/or recommend criminal prosecution. Employers may be assessed civil money penalties for each willful or repeated violation of the minimum wage or overtime pay provisions of the law. Civil money penalties may also be assessed for violations of the FLSA's child labor provisions. Heightened civil

LABOR

LAWS

FED

take a test or for exercising other rights under the Act.

manufacturers, distributors and dispensers.

restrictive with respect to lie detector tests.

EXAMINEE RIGHTS

ENFORCEMENT

DEPARTMENT

UNITED STATES

OF AMERICA

FED

OF LABOR

Certain occupations and establishments are

Mariana Islands, and the Commonwealth of Puerto

Some state laws provide greater employee "independent contractors" when they are actually

Certain full-time students, student learners,

REV. 04/2023

YOUR EMPLOYEE RIGHTS UNDER THE FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION

The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) is a federal law that provides eligible employees with job-protected leave for qualifying family and medical reasons. The U.S. Department of Labor's Wage and Hour Division (WHD) enforces the FMLA for most employees. Eligible employees can take **up to 12 workweeks** of FMLA leave in a 12-month period for:

EMPLOYEE RIGHTS

EMPLOYEE POLYGRAPH PROTECTION ACT

Employers are generally prohibited from requiring or requesting any employee or job applicant to take a lie detector

Federal, State and local governments are not affected by the law. Also, the law does not apply to tests given by the

The Act permits polygraph (a kind of lie detector) tests to be administered in the private sector, subject to restrictions,

The Act also permits polygraph testing, subject to restrictions, of certain employees of private firms who are reasonably

The law does not preempt any provision of any State or local law or any collective bargaining agreement which is more

Where polygraph tests are permitted, they are subject to numerous strict standards concerning the conduct and length

of the test. Examinees have a number of specific rights, including the right to a written notice before testing, the right

THE LAW REQUIRES EMPLOYERS TO DISPLAY THIS POSTER WHERE EMPLOYEES AND JOB APPLICANTS CAN READILY SEE IT.

1-866-487-9243

REV. 02/2022

www.dol.gov/agencies/whd

to refuse or discontinue a test, and the right not to have test results disclosed to unauthorized persons.

The Secretary of Labor may bring court actions to restrain violations and assess civil penalties against violators.

to certain prospective employees of security service firms (armored car, alarm, and guard), and of pharmaceutical

suspected of involvement in a workplace incident (theft, embezzlement, etc.) that resulted in economic loss to the

Federal Government to certain private individuals engaged in national security-related activities

test, and from discharging, disciplining, or discriminating against an employee or prospective employee for refusing to

The Employee Polygraph Protection Act prohibits most private employers from using lie detector tests either for

The birth, adoption or foster placement of a child with you,

Employees or job applicants may also bring their own court actions.

Your serious mental or physical health condition that makes you unable to work, To care for your spouse, child or parent with a serious mental or physical health condition, and

Certain qualifying reasons related to the foreign deployment of your spouse, child or parent who is a military servicemember. An eligible employee who is the spouse, child, parent or next of kin of a covered servicemember with a serious injury or illness may take up to 26 workweeks of FMLA leave in a single 12-month period to care for the servicemember You have the right to use FMLA leave in **one block of time**. When it is medically necessary or otherwise permitted, you may take FMLA leave intermittently in separate blocks of time, or on a reduced schedule by working less hours each day or week. Read Fact Sheet

FMLA leave is **not paid leave**, but you may choose, or be required by your employer, to use any employer-provided paid leave if your employer's paid leave policy covers the reason for which you need FMLA leave Am I eligible to take FMLA leave?

You are an **eligible employee** if **all** of the following apply: You work for a covered employer,

You have worked for your employer at least 12 months,

You have at least 1,250 hours of service for your employer during the 12 months before your leave, and Your employer has at least 50 employees within 75 miles of your work location. Airline flight crew employees have different "hours of service" requirements.

You work for a covered employer if one of the following applies: You work for a private employer that had at least 50 employees during at least 20 workweeks in the current or previous

You work for an elementary or public or private secondary school, or You work for a public agency, such as a local, state or federal government agency. Most federal employees are covered by Title II of the FMLA, administered by the Office of Personnel Management.

How do I request FMLA leave?

Generally, to request FMLA leave you must: Follow your employer's normal policies for requesting leave,

Give notice at least 30 days before your need for FMLA leave, or If advance notice is not possible, give notice as soon as possible.

You do not have to share a medical diagnosis but must provide enough information to your employer so they can determine whether the leave qualifies for FMLA protection. You must also inform your employer if FMLA leave was previously taken or approved for the same reason when requesting additional leave. Your employer may request certification from a health care provider to verify medical leave and may request certification of a

The FMLA does not affect any federal or state law prohibiting discrimination or supersede any state or local law or collective

State employees may be subject to certain limitations in pursuit of direct lawsuits regarding leave for their own serious health conditions. Most federal and certain congressional employees are also covered by the law but are subject to the jurisdiction of the U.S. Office of Personnel Management or Congress

What does my employer need to do? If you are eligible for FMLA leave, your employer must

> Allow you to take job-protected time off work for a qualifying reason, Continue your group health plan coverage while you are on leave on the same basis as if you had not taken leave, and

Allow you to return to the same job, or a virtually identical job with the same pay, benefits and other working conditions, including shift and location, at the end of your leave Your employer cannot interfere with your FMLA rights or threaten or punish you for exercising your rights under the law. For

example, your employer cannot retaliate against you for requesting FMLA leave or cooperating with a WHD investigation. After becoming aware that your need for leave is for a reason that may qualify under the FMLA, your **employer must confirm whether you are eligible** or not eligible for FMLA leave. If your employer determines that you are eligible, your **employer must** About your FMLA rights and responsibilities, and

How much of your requested leave, if any, will be FMLA-protected leave.

Where can I find more information? Call 1-866-487-9243 or visit dol.gov/fmla to learn more.

If you believe your rights under the FMLA have been violated, you may file a complaint with WHD or file a private lawsuit against your employer in court. Scan the QR code to learn about our WHD complaint process.

> DEPARTMENT OF LABOR UNITED STATES OF AMERICA WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR



Workforce Commission

Attention Employees Your employer reports your wages to the Texas Workforce Commission. If you become unemployed or your work hours are reduced, you may be eligible for unemployment benefit payments. File online at www.twc.texas.gov or call 1-800-939-6631. Additional assistance may be available at your local Workforce Solutions Office; please visit the $directory\ at: \underline{www.twc.texas.gov/directory-workforce-solutions-offices-services.}$

Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits are available to workers who are unemployed and who meet the requirements To file, you will need to provide your full legal name and your social security number or your authorization to work. The Texas Payday Law, Title II, Chapter 61, Texas Labor Code, requires Texas employers to pay their employees who are exempt from the overtime pay provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938 at least once per month. All other

employees must be paid at least twice a month and each pay period must consist as nearly as possible of an equal Scheduled paydays: (You must indicate date or dates of the month for employees paid monthly or semi-monthly, and

day of the week for employees paid weekly or at other times.) __ SEMI-MONTHLY:

TO EMPLOYERS: Texas Labor Code section 208.001(b) and 40 T.A.C. 815.1(14)(A) & (B) require that this notice, or its equivalent, be displayed in a location reasonably calculated to be encountered by all employees, and that an employer provide such information, individually, to an employee upon separation from employment. To report suspected fraud, waste or abuse of the program call 800-252-3642.

REV. 04/2020



NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES CONCERNING WORKERS' COMPENSATION IN TEXAS

COVERAGE: [Name of employer]

does not have workers' compensation insurance coverage. As an employee of a non-covered employer, you are not eligible to receive workers' compensation benefits under the Texas Workers' Compensation Act. However, a non-covered (nonsubscribing) employer can and may provide other benefits to injured employees. You should contact your employer regarding the availability of other benefits for a work-related injury or occupational disease. In addition, you may have rights under the common law of Texas should you have an on the job injury or occupational disease. Your employer is required to provide you with coverage information, in writing, when you are hired or whenever the employer becomes, or ceases to be, covered by workers' compensation insurance.

SAFETY VIOLATIONS HOTLINE: The Division has a 24 hour toll-free telephone number for reporting unsafe conditions in the workplace that may violate occupational health and safety laws. Employers are prohibited by law from suspending, terminating, or discriminating against any employee because he or she in good faith reports an alleged occupational health or safety violation. Contact the Division at 1-800-452-9595.

Notice 5 • TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, DIVISION OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION • Rule 110.101(e)(4)

EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY IS ... IGUALIDAD DE OPORTUNIDADES EN EL EMPLEO ES ... The Law in Texas La Ley en Texas

The law prohibits employers, employment agencies and labor unions from denying equal employment opportunities in

because of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, age, or

This poster is in compliance with federal and state posting requirements.

TX

fringe benefit

other aspects of employmen

otros aspectos del emple

La ley prohíbe a los empleadores, agencias de empleo y

sindicatos de negar la igualidad de oportunidades de empleo en

por causa de raza, color, nacionalidad, religion, sexo, edad, o

The Sex Protected Class includes Sexual Harassment, Gender La clase protegida por sexo incluve acoso sexual, estereotipos Stereotyping, Pregnancy Discrimination, Gender Identity, and de género, discriminación por embarazo, identidad de género y If you believe you have been discriminated against, contact the Texas Workforce Commission, Civil Rights Division

Si usted cree que ha sido discriminado, comuníquese con la

Comisión Laboral de Texas, División de Derechos Civiles Website: www.twc.texas.gov/jobseekers/how-submit-employment-discrimination-complaint Email: EEOintake@twc.texas.gov 101 E. 15th Street, RM. 154; Austin, TX 78778 (512) 463-2642 TTY (512) 371-7473

Igualdad de Oportunidad de Empleo / Programa

Equal Opportunity Employer / Program

FED

Job applicants

Color

Religion

Disability

National origin

Age (40 and older)

of your immigration status, on the bases of:

orientation, or gender identity)

What Organizations are Covered?

State and local governments (as employers)

Educational institutions (as employers)

Pay (unequal wages or compensation)

Most private employers

All aspects of employment, including:

Discharge, firing, or lay-off

Hiring or promotion

observance or practice

Assignment

Benefits

Job training

Classification

Staffing agencies

Discriminatory?

Union members and applicants for membership in a union

What Types of Employment Discrimination are Illegal?

Under the EEOC's laws, an employer may not discriminate against you, regardless

Sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, and related medical conditions, sexual

Genetic information (including employer requests for, or purchase, use, or

disclosure of genetic tests, genetic services, or family medical history)

Retaliation for filing a charge, reasonably opposing discrimination, or

participating in a discrimination lawsuit, investigation, or proceeding

disability discrimination or pregnancy accommodation

What Employment Practices can be Challenged as

Harassment (including unwelcome verbal or physical conduct)

Obtaining or disclosing genetic information of employees

accommodation) or pregnancy accommodation

Submit an inquiry through the EEOC's public portal:

1–844–234–5122 (ASL video phone)

an EEOC field office (information at

1-800-669-4000 (toll free)

www.eeoc.gov/field-office)

including information about filing a charge of

discrimination, is available at www.eeoc.gov.

Additional information about the EEOC,

1-800-669-6820 (TTY)

Requesting or disclosing medical information of employees

Conduct that might reasonably discourage someone from opposing

discrimination, filing a charge, or participating in an investigation or

Conduct that coerces, intimidates, threatens, or interferes with someone

exercising their rights, or someone assisting or encouraging someone

What can You Do if You Believe Discrimination has Occurred?

Contact the EEOC promptly if you suspect discrimination. Do not delay, because

there are strict time limits for filing a charge of discrimination (180 or 300 days,

depending on where you live/work). You can reach the EEOC in any of the

https://publicportal.eeoc.gov/Portal/Login.aspx

else to exercise rights, regarding disability discrimination (including

Failure to provide reasonable accommodation for a disability; pregnancy,

childbirth, or related medical condition; or a sincerely-held religious belief,

Interference, coercion, or threats related to exercising rights regarding

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission **Know Your Rights: Workplace Discrimination is Illegal**

The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) enforces Federal laws that protect you from discrimination in of companies doing business with the Federal Government. If you are applying

employment. If you believe you've been discriminated against at work or in applying for a job, the EEOC may be able to help. Who is Protected? for a job with, or are an employee of, a company with a Federal contract or Employees (current and former), including managers and temporary subcontract, you are protected under Federal law from discrimination on the

Race, Color, Religion, Sex, Sexual Orientation, Gender Identity, **National Origin**

Executive Order 11246, as amended, prohibits employment discrimination by

Federal contractors based on race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender

identity, or national origin, and requires affirmative action to ensure equality of opportunity in all aspects of employment.

Asking About, Disclosing, or Discussing Pay Executive Order 11246, as amended, protects applicants and employees of Federal contractors from discrimination based on inquiring about, disclosing,

or discussing their compensation or the compensation of other applicants or

Disability Section 503 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, protects qualified individuals with disabilities from discrimination in hiring, promotion, discharge, pay, fringe benefits, job training, classification, referral, and other aspects of employment by Federal contractors. Disability discrimination includes not making reasonable accommodation to the known physical or mental limitations of an otherwise qualified individual with a disability who is an applicant or employee, barring undue hardship to the employer. Section 503 also requires that Federal contractors take affirmative action to employ and advance in

employment qualified individuals with disabilities at all levels of employment,

including the executive level. **Protected Veteran Status**

The Vietnam Era Veterans' Readjustment Assistance Act of 1974, as amended, 38 U.S.C. 4212, prohibits employment discrimination against, and requires affirmative action to recruit, employ, and advance in employment, disabled veterans, recently separated veterans (i.e., within three years of discharge or release from active duty), active duty wartime or campaign badge veterans, or Armed Forces service medal veterans.

Retaliation is prohibited against a person who files a complaint of discrimination, participates in an OFCCP proceeding, or otherwise opposes discrimination by Federal contractors under these Federal laws.

Any person who believes a contractor has violated its nondiscrimination or affirmative action obligations under OFCCP's authorities should contact The Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP)

U.S. Department of Labor 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20210

1-800-397-6251 (toll-free) If you are deaf, hard of hearing, or have a speech disability, please dial 7–1–1 to access telecommunications relay services. OFCCP may also be contacted by submitting a question online to OFCCP's Help Desk at https://ofccphelpdesk.dol.gov/s/, or by calling an OFCCP regional or district office, listed in most telephone directories under U.S. Government,

Department of Labor and on OFCCP's "Contact Us" webpage at

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/ofccp/contact. PROGRAMS OR ACTIVITIES RECEIVING FEDERAL FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE

Race, Color, National Origin, Sex

In addition to the protections of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color or national origin in programs or activities receiving Federal financial assistance. Employment discrimination is covered by Title VI if the primary objective of the financial assistance is provision of employment, or where employment discrimination causes or may cause discrimination in providing services under such programs. Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 prohibits employment discrimination on the basis of sex in educational programs or activities which receive Federal financial

Individuals with Disabilities

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, prohibits employment discrimination on the basis of disability in any program or activity which receives Federal financial assistance. Discrimination is prohibited in all aspects of employment against persons with disabilities who, with or without reasonable accommodation, can perform the essential functions of the job. If you believe you have been discriminated against in a program of any institution which receives Federal financial assistance, you should immediately contact the Federal agency providing such assistance.

REV. 06/27/2023

FED

E-Mail *info@eeoc.gov*

YOUR RIGHTS UNDER USERRA THE UNIFORMED SERVICES EMPLOYMENT AND REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS ACT

USERRA protects the job rights of individuals who voluntarily or involuntarily leave employment positions to undertake military service or certain types of service in the National Disaster Medical System. USERRA also prohibits employers from discriminating against past and present members of the uniformed services, and applicants to the uniformed services.

REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS

You have the right to be reemployed in your civilian job if you leave that job to perform service in the uniformed service and:

EMPLOYERS HOLDING FEDERAL CONTRACTS OR

SUBCONTRACTS

The Department of Labor's Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs

(OFCCP) enforces the nondiscrimination and affirmative action commitments

you ensure that your employer receives advance written or verbal notice of your service; you have five years or less of cumulative service in the uniformed

services while with that particular employer; you return to work or apply for reemployment in a timely manner after

conclusion of service; and you have not been separated from service with a disqualifying

discharge or under other than honorable conditions. If you are eligible to be reemployed, you must be restored to the job and benefits you would have attained if you had not been absent due to military

RIGHT TO BE FREE FROM DISCRIMINATION AND RETALIATION

service or, in some cases, a comparable job.

are obligated to serve in the are a past or present member of • uniformed service; the uniformed service: have applied for membership in the uniformed service; or

then an employer may not deny you: initial employment; reemployment;

service connection.

retention in employment; because of this status. In addition, an employer may not retaliate against anyone assisting in the enforcement of USERRA rights, including testifying or making a statement

promotion: or

any benefit of employment

HEALTH INSURANCE PROTECTION If you leave your job to perform military service, you have the right to

connected illnesses or injuries.

Even if you don't elect to continue coverage during your military service, you have the right to be reinstated in your employer's health plan when you are reemployed, generally without any waiting periods or exclusions (e.g., pre-existing condition exclusions) except for service-

elect to continue your existing employer-based health plan coverage

for you and your dependents for up to 24 months while in the military.

ENFORCEMENT The U.S. Department of Labor, Veterans Employment and Training Service (VETS) is authorized to investigate and resolve complaints of For assistance in filing a complaint, or for any other information on

Advisor can be viewed at https://webapps.dol.gov/elaws/vets/userra. If you file a complaint with VETS and VETS is unable to resolve it, you may request that your case be referred to the Department of Justice or

USERRA, contact VETS at 1-866-4-USA-DOL or visit its website at

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/vets/. An interactive online USERRA

the Office of Special Counsel, as applicable, for representation. You may also bypass the VETS process and bring a civil action against an employer for violations of USERRA. The rights listed here may vary depending on the circumstances. The text of this notice was prepared by VETS, and may be viewed on the internet at this address: https://www.dol.gov/agencies/vets/programs/userra/poster Federal

law requires employers to notify employees of their rights under USERRA, and

employers may meet this requirement by displaying the text of this notice

where they customarily place notices for employees.

in connection with a proceeding under USERRA, even if that person has no U.S. Department of Labor • 1-866-487-2365 U.S. Department of Justice Office of Special Counsel

Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve • 1-800-336-4590

REV. 05/2022



Job Safety and Health IT'S THE LAW!

All workers have the right to:

 A safe workplace. Raise a safety or health concern with your employer or OSHA, or report a workrelated injury or illness, without being

retaliated against. Receive information and training on job hazards, including all hazardous substances in your workplace.

 Request a confidential OSHA inspection of your workplace if you believe there are unsafe or unhealthy conditions. You have the right to have a representative contact OSHA on your behalf.

 Participate (or have your representative) participate) in an OSHA inspection and speak in private to the inspector. File a complaint with OSHA within 30 days

(by phone, online or by mail) if you have been

that measure hazards in the workplace, and

retaliated against for using your rights. See any OSHA citations issued to your employer.

the workplace injury and illness log.

This poster is available free from OSHA.

Contact OSHA. We can help.

ONLINE

Employers must: Provide employees a workplace free from recognized hazards. It is illegal to retaliate against an employee for using any of their rights under the law, including raising a health and safety concern with you or with OSHA, or

 Comply with all applicable OSHA standards. Notify OSHA within 8 hours of a workplace

reporting a work-related injury or illness.

of an eye. Provide required training to all workers in a

language and vocabulary they can understand.

fatality or within 24 hours of any work-related

inpatient hospitalization, amputation, or loss

 Prominently display this poster in the workplace. Post OSHA citations at or near the place of

On-Site Consultation services are available to small and medium-sized employers, without citation or penalty, through OSHA-supported consultation programs in every state.

the alleged violations.





J. J. Keller & Associates, Inc. JJKeller.com/laborlaw 800-327-6868 JUN2023

FED-TXN-ENG 65878F

Since 1953 62918

Copyright 2023 J. J. Keller & Associates, Inc. • Neenah, WI • Printed in the USA